Back Into Routine

The summer holidays are over.

We’re all back at work and school.

We had such a brilliant six weeks. We spent lots of time outdoors in the sunshine. We went to the National Museum in Cardiff. We had a day at Bristol Zoo. We had family come to visit. We spent a few days in London, including a day at Chessington World of Adventures – somewhere neither me nor Pip had ever been before!

 

Pip also completed the Summer Reading Challenge for the second year in a row. She’s already excited about being presented with her medal at school.

Today is her first day of Year 2. I was a little sad dropping her off this morning. I’ve (mostly) loved our summer together. She seemed very excited about getting back to school, which was good to see.

I’ve been a bit naughty over the last couple of weeks. After losing one and a half stone in June and July, I let things slide a bit while we had guests and then while we were in London. I haven’t been exercising much and I’ve eaten all kinds of unhealthy foods. I’m terrified of what the scales will say when I next step on them! I’ve decided to give myself a week to get back on track before I do. I’m throwing myself straight back into diet mode this week, although I’m working nearly every day so fitting exercise in around that plus school runs plus housework and everything else will be difficult. I might try some HIIT workouts, as I know they can be pretty quick but still effective. Wish me luck!

This is the first September in many years that I haven’t had a new university course to start. I’m feeling a little unproductive. So I’ve decided to try and get into a good writing routine. I must try and finish a whole story, rather than flitting between them and never getting any results. Of course, this is yet another thing to fit in amongst everything else but I must try!

How was your summer? Are you glad to be getting back into a routine or are you missing the holidays already?

Leave a Reply

