Slow Cooking Beginner

After months of procrastination, searching for recipes I might use and trying to choose which model I prefer, I have finally purchased a slow cooker.

Since it’s something to experiment with (which could well end up not working for us at all)  I went for a fairly low cost model, the Cookworks 6.5l slow cooker from Argos . It’s not very fancy, although I think it looks just as nice as much more expensive models, and it has near perfect reviews.

I have such a long list of recipes I want to try out. Last night, I had my first go at using it. I made Coq au Vin for myself and the Husband (I’ll pop the recipe further down) and we were both really pleased with it. I had to tweak the recipe a little bit since Husband can’t eat onions. The flavours were really rich and the meat was ridiculously tender – it fell apart when I tried to get it out with tongs and it could be cut up with fork!

IMG_0046 2

I’m planning on trying out a beef stew this weekend. I don’t often cook beef as I’m always worried about it being tough. I reckon slow cooking is the answer. I’m always very keen to try some sweet recipes, such as rice pudding and poached fruit.

Here’s the recipe for Coq au Vin:

100g bacon

4 chicken breasts, each cut in half

2 tbsp oil (I used vegetable oil)

25g plain flour

200ml red wine

400ml chicken stock

  1. Heat the oil in a big pan and fry the bacon for a few minutes then remove from the pan.
  2. Coat the chicken in flour and cook in the pan for a few minutes on each side until nicely browned.
  3. Put the bacon back in the pan and add the wine and stock. Bring to the boil.
  4. Put everything in the slow cooker and cook for 3 hours on high or 6 hours on low (timings might be different for your slow cooker, this is correct for my model).
  5. Serve. Eat. Enjoy.

 

I served the chicken with mashed potato and greens beans and gravy made from the cooking sauce mixed with a teaspoon or so of gravy granules.

I’ll add more recipes as I try them out. Do you have a favourite slow cooker recipe? Do share it below!

 

Leave a Reply

