Top 10 Christmas Films

The festive season is upon us! One of my favourite things to do at this time of year is snuggle up on the sofa with my favourite people and a big mug of  hot chocolate and enjoy a Christmas film.

So here, in no particular order, are ten of my favourites:

  1. Muppet Christmas Carol. Dickens’ classic tale is surely one of the greatest Christmas stories ever and the only thing that could ever have really improved it was creating a Muppet version. With a lovely message about helping our fellow human beings and some extremely good songs, this film is simply brilliant. We have a tradition of watching it every Christmas Eve
  2. Die Hard. So once Muppet Christmas Carol is over and our daughter’s in bed, on goes Die Hard. Surely one of the greatest action films ever, plus bloody hilarious and ridiculously quotable.
  3. Home Alone 2: Lost in New York. Hilarious performances all round, with the important message that it just isn’t Christmas without your loved ones around you. Plus I can’t help but laugh my head off every time I see a shrieking Marv getting attacked by a flock of pigeons.
  4. Love Actually. Yes, it’s an over-sentimental Richard Curtis film. But I love all of the little interwoven stories. And I defy anyone not to get a little teared up at Emma Thompson’s performance. In fact, I’m almost weeping now just thinking about it. Just to note, this is also definitely not one for the kids – there’s tons of bad language and also a bit of nudity.
  5. It’s a Wonderful Life. An absolute classic tale of how worthwhile life is and the difference one man can make to so many lives. You really have to get to the end before you get that nice uplifting feeling though.
  6. The Nightmare Before Christmas. There seems to be some debate over whether this is a Christmas film or a Halloween film. I don’t bother myself with such silliness and simply watch it for both. I really love stop animation and ‘What’s this?’ is one of my favourite Christmas songs ever.
  7. The Holiday. Yes, this is another soppy one but it always makes me laugh and, I think, contains a really lovely performance from Jack Black.
  8. Elf. I was not immediately convinced on first hearing about this film. It sounded a bit cheesy and bordering on just a bit too ridiculous. But actually Will Ferrel does well in the role and it’s become a real Christmas classic.
  9. Blackadder’s A Christmas Carol. Blackadder is one of my favourite TV  series and this twist on one of my favourite Christmas stories is just brilliant.
  10. Miracle of 34th Street (1994 version). Richard Attenborough is perfect as Santa Claus and Mara Wilson is the quintessential cute small child. It’s the kind of film that induces that warm, fuzzy feeling in even the coldest hearted Scrooge.

Did I miss out your favourite? Do comment with it below!

Leave a Reply

