A Week of Packed Lunches

Today I’m in a planning mood. The kind of mood where I want to make lists and schedules. So to take advantage of this, I’m going to make a plan for Pip’s first week of school packed lunches. I really don’t want her to have the boring lunches I used to have – soggy sandwiches and whatever happened to be in the cupboard thrown in.

Being completely new to making a child’s school packed lunches, I decided to do a little research, which took me to the NHS choices website, which has some handy guidelines….

A balanced packed lunch should contain:

  • Starchy foods. These are bread, rice, potatoes and pasta, and others.
  • Protein foods. These are meat, fish, eggs, beans and others.
  • A dairy item. This could be cheese or yoghurt.
  • Vegetables or salad, and a portion of fruit

I also had a few rules of my own.

  • No boring sandwiches or anything that’s going to be soggy or otherwise unappealing by lunchtime
  • Never the same thing two days in a row
  • As much homemade stuff as possible, both to save money and to get Pip involved in making her own food
  • Include foods that she’s going to really enjoy eating

With this in mind, I’ve come up with five lunchbox ideas for Pip’s first week.

Day One

Bagel filled with banana and peanut butter*

Cherry tomatoes

Cheese cubes (I’m thinking cheddar & red Leicester, to make it look colourful)

Day Two

Homemade cheese & chive muffins

Grapes

Apple crisps

Day Three

Pitta Bread cut into strips with hummus

Carrot and red pepper sticks

Cheese cubes

Day Four

Bagel with soft cheese and cucumber

Cherry Tomatoes

Grapes

Day Five

Pasta salad with cherry tomatoes, baby spinach, feta cheese and lemon mayo

Apple crisps

Hardboiled egg

What do you put in your child’s lunchbox? I’m always open to new ideas!

*I have heard that some schools have rules against foods that contain peanuts but I’ve been given no such rules so I’m hoping that Pip’s don’t.

Leave a Reply

