New uni course: A230 Reading & Studying Literature

Summer holidays are still in full swing and we’re having lots of fun with our last few weeks before school starts for Pip. It’s going to be a big change in her life and she’s so excited. But she’s not the only one that’s starting a new school year. 

My next uni course might not be starting until October but my course materials are due to arrive in early September and, given that I’m also going to be looking for work as soon as Pip’s in school full time, I want to get a head start! 

This course is going to be very different from my last two, which were both creative writing with very little academic style writing involved. This year I’ll be taking the Open University module A230, Reading and Studying Literature. A large part of why I picked it was because the materials set list included a few titles that I’ve sort of been meaning to read for years but never quite got around to it – Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle and Othello by Shakespeare – plus one of my favourite books that I have read – Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – and a film that Husband has been telling me I should watch for ages, Metropolis. 

On Monday, or what we dubbed ‘Mail Day’ due to a number of things being delivered that day, I received amongst other things, a nice big stack of books. Here’s a full list: 

Oroonoko by Aphra Behn

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle

Dancing at Lughnasa by Brian Friel 

Dubliners by James Joyce

The Emigrants by W.G Sebald

The Lonely Londoners by Sam Selvon

Candide, or Optimism by Voltaire

Othello by William Shakespeare

I’ve still got one more due to arrive, The Duchess of Malfi by J. Webster

As I said, I’ve already read Wuthering Heights. I’m currently reading Sign of Four. On joining the course Facebook group, I am just a tad concerned that many of my fellow students seem to have made much more headway on the reading than I have. Indeed some of them have already completed the entire list! But with just over six weeks until the course actually begins, I think I’ll be alright. I haven’t really analysed a book academically since secondary school and this is at a much higher level so that’s a bit daunting too but also an appealing challenge. 

I am really excited to be starting another year of university studies. This is my fifth course and once it’s completed, I’ll only need to take one more to get my degree! It’s still a way off yet and there’s lots of work to be done but definitely something to look forward to! 

 

Leave a Reply

