Reading with Pip: 5 Favourite Books

I’ve always loved books. I remember reading A Little Princess when I was a little girl over and over. I’d love to read it to Pip when she’s a bit older as it’s a lovely story.

For now, she has plenty of her own favourites! I thought I’d share a few with you. So I asked her to pick her favourite five books. I’ve included Pip’s answer when I asked why she liked each one.

Aliens Love Underpants by Claire Freedman & Ben Cort

Aliens love underpants

This is lovely silly story. I think the authors really hit upon something – children love aliens and find underwear hilarious. Pip giggles through this whole book.  It’s rhyme structure makes it pleasant to read aloud too, always a bonus for the parent!

Pip: ‘I like the way the aliens jump up and down in pants! They’re so funny!’

Hippo Has A Hat by Julia Donaldson & Nick Sharrat

Hippo has a hat collage

Another silly one that makes Pip howl with laughter. I’ve found it useful for teaching her about rhyming words by having her try to guess what the next line might end with.

Pip: ‘My favourite bit was the zebra stuck in it’s dress!’

Dinosaur Roar! by Paul & Henrietta Stickland

Dinosaur roar collage

If you read yesterday’s post, you’ll know that Pip loves dinosaurs. We got this book years ago in one of our packs from Bookstart. If you haven’t already, I really recommend asking your health visitor or local library about Bookstart packs. They have some lovely books in them and usually a nice poster with some nursery rhymes on (they do vary from time to time and depending on location – in Wales we got a bilingual Welsh & English book). Anyway, back to the book. Other than being all about dinosaurs, which is great for Pip, this books is good for learning about rhymes and also opposites – fast & slow, above & below, short & long etc. I think Pip will still be enjoying this one for a while yet!

Pip: ‘I like roaring like a dinosaur!’ (As I’m sure you can imagine, I was then treated to five minutes of dinosaur impressions, complete with plenty of stomping about!)

Dear Zoo by Rod Campbell

Dear Zoo collage

Again, this is one we’ve had for years and it’s still a firm favourite. I like it for the simple, repetitive words that have been very useful for starting to teach Pip to read. She likes it for the flaps that she gets to lift on every page. I think she also likes that she can remember all of the words to this one now and can say them along with me.

Pip: ‘I like all of the different animals under all of the flaps’

George’s First Day At Playgroup

George at playgroup

This came as part of a set of Peppa Pig books that Pip received for her fourth birthday. I like the series for all being on events or themes that children will probably encounter and might have trouble with, like a first day at playgroup or nursery. Although Pip had already been at nursery for a while by the time we first read this, it was useful for explaining to her that she needs to help the children who had just started at the beginning of term. Of course, her favourite bit is when George paints a dinosaur picture.

Pip: ‘George painted a dinosaur!’

I’ll share more of Pip’s favourite books with you next week!

Leave a Reply

